Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Login


3 Pages<123
Options
View
Go to last post Go to first unread
Jordo  
#41 Posted : Saturday, January 7, 2023 12:18:10 PM(UTC)
Jordo

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 12/7/2011(UTC)
Posts: 474
Location: Amsterdam

Thanks: 31 times
Was thanked: 4 time(s) in 3 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Possum Go to Quoted Post
"

If you have dual windings on your 5V Placid's XFormer then I'd suggest replacing one of the HD Placids with 2 LT3045 regs like this one which will give you separate clean power for AVCC and XOs:

https://www.diyinhk.com/...gulator-3357v-14ax2.html



Hi Possum,

I thought to have read that these PSU's can be setu as Bipolar PSU's. Do you have any experience with that? Would it be interesting to use those for the Mercury instead of the Placid?

Cheers,

Jordo




Possum  
#42 Posted : Saturday, January 7, 2023 8:39:07 PM(UTC)
Possum

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 8/5/2012(UTC)
Posts: 205
Australia

Thanks: 4 times
Was thanked: 15 time(s) in 13 post(s)
Yes, i's possible with 2 fully-floating power supplies (separate xformers/windings - not a centre tapped one), but you can run into issues doing this depending on what is downstream (I fried a Mercury and a class D amp module doing this because the class D module had a real bipolar reg and this caused unexpected voltage outputs from the LT3045s).

If you're just powering the Mercury alone it works fine, but I would recommend a proper bipolar implementation using both an LT3045 and LT3094 - or better yet, 2 of each in parallel.

This is what I am now doing. You can even use an LT3045/LT3094 in front of an HD Placid.
Jordo  
#43 Posted : Sunday, January 8, 2023 1:39:44 PM(UTC)
Jordo

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 12/7/2011(UTC)
Posts: 474
Location: Amsterdam

Thanks: 31 times
Was thanked: 4 time(s) in 3 post(s)
Hi Possum,

That sounds like an unpleasant experience.
I found this
These work with a DC input as well and could be placed behind the Placid or just use it instead of.
I see some bad reviews at audiophonic.fr. I think those are the same. Maybe these are of better quality.

Never mind, they miss the Murata Chokes.

Can you specify what you use now?

Edited by user Sunday, January 8, 2023 10:24:38 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Rss Feed  Atom Feed
Users browsing this topic
3 Pages<123
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.