Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member
Joined: 5/19/2010(UTC) Posts: 66 Location: California, USA
|
Hello Russ / Brian,
I am having problems with my OPUS(WM8740) when I use the Volumite. In H/W mode OPUS works perfectly, when I connect Volumite all I get is a static (constant hiss noise). My configuration is
S/PDIF MUX -> OPUS -> IVY III | V Volumite
The bag in which the micro-controller was sent had a marking of WM8740, so I assume it has been programmed for WM8740. Can you give me pointers as to where I should start for debugging this issue?
Regards Subbu
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Groups: Member
Joined: 11/9/2007(UTC) Posts: 453 Location: usa
|
|
|
|
|
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member
Joined: 5/19/2010(UTC) Posts: 66 Location: California, USA
|
I have the version 2.0 of OPUS and set the I2S to low(-) on the switch. All the other switches are open. The connection between Volumite and Opus are
Volumite - Opus VCC - VD GND - G SDA - SDIN SCL - SCK
Regards Subbu
|
|
|
|
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration, Customer Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC) Posts: 2,868 Location: Massachusetts, USA
Thanks: 2 times Was thanked: 141 time(s) in 134 post(s)
|
I *think* v2.0 of Opus has the WM8741, not the WM8740.
|
|
|
|
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member
Joined: 5/19/2010(UTC) Posts: 66 Location: California, USA
|
Brian, I assembled the board myself using WM8740. I configured the switch as per the v2.0 manual and it works fine in hardware mode. Does the volumite need different firmware for running v2.0 OPUS with WM8740?
Regards Subbu
|
|
|
|
Rank: Member
Groups: Member
Joined: 11/9/2007(UTC) Posts: 453 Location: usa
|
Try DIFFHW=0 (according to datasheet there is an internal pull down, so this may not matter) MODE=1 (according to datasheet there is an internal pull up, so this may not matter either) More: According to the datasheet, The WM8740 works in SPI (3-wire), not I2C (2-wire). That means you need to connect to the csb header and leave the I2S switch open (but I've not tried to operate a WM8740 in s/w) Edited by user Monday, March 14, 2011 3:49:13 PM(UTC)
| Reason: Not specified
|
|
|
|
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member
Joined: 5/19/2010(UTC) Posts: 66 Location: California, USA
|
Thanks glt I will give it a try as soon as I get home. Which pin on volumite should CSB be connected?
Regards Subbu
|
|
|
|
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration, Customer Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC) Posts: 3,979 Location: Nashville, TN
Thanks: 25 times Was thanked: 89 time(s) in 83 post(s)
|
hopefully this bit of code will help:
#define MC PIN2 #define MD PIN0 #define ML PIN1
|
|
|
|
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member
Joined: 5/19/2010(UTC) Posts: 66 Location: California, USA
|
Hi Russ, I wired the Opus and Volumite based on the code and still it doesn't work. Also I found from CSB header pin is connected to I2S pin of the DAC. Schematics show that I2S only goes to the switch. I will try to test the Volumite itself to see if it works by connecting a LED to the SDA/SCL pins. Meanwhile what else should I be looking for to fix the issue?
Regards Subbu
|
|
|
|
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration, Customer Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC) Posts: 3,979 Location: Nashville, TN
Thanks: 25 times Was thanked: 89 time(s) in 83 post(s)
|
It goes to the chip too. Use your DMM to trace the terminals to the chip pins, and then refer to the Wm8740 datasheet. That board is marked for the WM8741.
|
|
|
|
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member
Joined: 5/19/2010(UTC) Posts: 66 Location: California, USA
|
Russ, I did use the DMM to trace the terminal to chip pins and thats how I found CSB goes to Switch.1 and DAC pin 28. In the schematics posted on the site, Controller.4 connects to Switch.5 and DAC pin 23.
|
|
|
|
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration, Customer Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC) Posts: 3,979 Location: Nashville, TN
Thanks: 25 times Was thanked: 89 time(s) in 83 post(s)
|
Thats because you were looking at the WM8740 version of the schematic. Here is the schematic for the newer board. We will need to make sure both are up there and clearly marked. here is the one for your board: File Attachment(s): schematic.pdf (31kb) downloaded 32 time(s).You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
|
|
|
|
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member
Joined: 5/19/2010(UTC) Posts: 66 Location: California, USA
|
Russ, I tried the LED test and the result I got was the same as other poster. When I connect the LED to SCL it stay on always and when connected to SDA it blinks once like 2 seconds or something. When I turn the pot nothing changes.
Let me know what else could be the problem.
I followed this from your other post:
Here is an easy way to verify if the controller is working, Rig a LED (red green whatever you have) in series with about 221-390R resistor. Connect the anode end of the two to the volumite's regulated 3.3V and the cathode end to either SDA or SCL.
It should blink when you turn the pot.
|
|
|
|
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration, Customer Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC) Posts: 3,979 Location: Nashville, TN
Thanks: 25 times Was thanked: 89 time(s) in 83 post(s)
|
That test only applies to I2C. The WM8740 uses SPI.
|
|
|
|
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member
Joined: 5/19/2010(UTC) Posts: 66 Location: California, USA
|
Russ, ok.. any other suggestions on finding what could be the issue?
|
|
|
|
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration, Customer Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC) Posts: 3,979 Location: Nashville, TN
Thanks: 25 times Was thanked: 89 time(s) in 83 post(s)
|
Do you have Wm8740 firmware? Or Wm8741 firmware?
|
|
|
|
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member
Joined: 5/19/2010(UTC) Posts: 66 Location: California, USA
|
When I received the Volumite the micro-controller bag was labelled as WM8740. So it should be WM8740. I have a arduino with me, using that would I be able to flash firmware on ATTiny in Volumite?
|
|
|
|
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration, Customer Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC) Posts: 3,979 Location: Nashville, TN
Thanks: 25 times Was thanked: 89 time(s) in 83 post(s)
|
Try leaving all of the switches open.
Volumite should be wired as follows:
VOLUMITE -> DAC
GND -> GND ML(PB1) -> CSB MC(SCL) -> SCK MD(SDA) -> SDIN
|
|
|
|
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member
Joined: 5/19/2010(UTC) Posts: 66 Location: California, USA
|
Hello Russ, I tried your settings and it still doesn't work. All I get is static hiss output. I am thinking of using arduino to control Opus, would you mind sharing the volumite code for WM8740? I can modify it for arduino and check it out.
thx Subbu
|
|
|
|
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration, Customer Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC) Posts: 3,979 Location: Nashville, TN
Thanks: 25 times Was thanked: 89 time(s) in 83 post(s)
|
One thing to consider is that if you ever had the Volumite connected while you had one of the SPI (CSB,SCK,SDIN) lines pulled up or down with the DIP switch then you shorted it, likely killing that port on the controller.
|
|
|
|
Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.