Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post Go to first unread
gjgille  
#1 Posted : Tuesday, July 14, 2020 9:43:06 PM(UTC)
gjgille

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 3/17/2020(UTC)
Posts: 9
United States
Location: PA

I completed my Buffalo iii ES9038 build with Amenaro/Hermes/Cronus input and Mercury for output. It appears to lock on the signal and files play when I use Roon, but no sound is output on either balanced or single ended Chanels. I hear the relays click when switched on but nothing else. I've tried with bypassing the volume control or with volume control with the same results.
Brian Donegan  
#2 Posted : Saturday, July 18, 2020 8:38:53 PM(UTC)
Brian Donegan

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administration, Customer
Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC)
Posts: 2,821
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Thanks: 2 times
Was thanked: 131 time(s) in 126 post(s)
Pictures of your setup would help. Focus on Cronus. Also, what Amanero firmware are you using?
gjgille  
#3 Posted : Sunday, July 19, 2020 5:16:10 PM(UTC)
gjgille

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 3/17/2020(UTC)
Posts: 9
United States
Location: PA

Cronus.jpg (203kb) downloaded 9 time(s). Mercury.jpg (247kb) downloaded 15 time(s). Buffalo.jpg (217kb) downloaded 13 time(s).

Attached are the pictures of Buffalo, Mercury, and Cronus. Amanero was purchased from Twisted Pear, I have not flashed.

Edited by user Sunday, July 19, 2020 5:17:23 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Brian Donegan  
#4 Posted : Monday, July 20, 2020 7:25:32 PM(UTC)
Brian Donegan

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administration, Customer
Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC)
Posts: 2,821
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Thanks: 2 times
Was thanked: 131 time(s) in 126 post(s)
Can you describe your Mercury power wiring? Looks like you are powering both sides, but also have the power jumpers in place? Are you getting +/- 15VDC on both rails?
gjgille  
#5 Posted : Monday, July 20, 2020 8:40:25 PM(UTC)
gjgille

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 3/17/2020(UTC)
Posts: 9
United States
Location: PA

I actually connected the jumpers as a last ditch try as I wasn't sure what they did. I had the same results without the jumpers connected. Power to the Mercury is +/-14.87 to both sides.
Brian Donegan  
#6 Posted : Monday, July 20, 2020 8:45:17 PM(UTC)
Brian Donegan

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administration, Customer
Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC)
Posts: 2,821
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Thanks: 2 times
Was thanked: 131 time(s) in 126 post(s)
Have you adjusted any of the DIP switches? SW1:1 should be set to OFF for I2S.
gjgille  
#7 Posted : Monday, July 20, 2020 8:56:20 PM(UTC)
gjgille

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 3/17/2020(UTC)
Posts: 9
United States
Location: PA

Yes, 1 position 1 is Off. The LED for Lock is lit up, just no sound
Brian Donegan  
#8 Posted : Tuesday, July 21, 2020 12:48:07 PM(UTC)
Brian Donegan

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administration, Customer
Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC)
Posts: 2,821
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Thanks: 2 times
Was thanked: 131 time(s) in 126 post(s)
Nothing stands out as obviously wrong. If you are getting a lock light, then it is receiving bit-clock from the Cronus. The only think left that I can think of is the Amanero firmware. Can you try re-flashing it?
gjgille  
#9 Posted : Tuesday, July 21, 2020 10:28:56 PM(UTC)
gjgille

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 3/17/2020(UTC)
Posts: 9
United States
Location: PA

I cut the jumpers on the Mercury and refreshed the Amanero with:
CPLD Firmware = "Slave_For_1080"
CPU Firmware = "firmware_1096c"
The PC recognizes the USB and there is lock, but still no sound.
Brian Donegan  
#10 Posted : Monday, August 10, 2020 4:40:43 PM(UTC)
Brian Donegan

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administration, Customer
Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC)
Posts: 2,821
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Thanks: 2 times
Was thanked: 131 time(s) in 126 post(s)
Did you set the Flags for the Amenero?
gjgille  
#11 Posted : Friday, August 14, 2020 8:25:07 PM(UTC)
gjgille

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 3/17/2020(UTC)
Posts: 9
United States
Location: PA

I don't think so. How do you set the flags and what to set them to?
stewart  
#12 Posted : Monday, October 19, 2020 3:40:30 AM(UTC)
stewart

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 11/10/2008(UTC)
Posts: 131
Location: New York City

Thanks: 1 times
Did you ever get this straightened out? I was using a BuffPro 9038 with mercury and cronus/amanero without issue and am having the same problem you describe trying to get a new 9028 and legato going. I get lock (and know everything was working with the 9038), all power supplies are measuring correctly but I'm not getting sound.
gjgille  
#13 Posted : Monday, October 19, 2020 2:35:27 PM(UTC)
gjgille

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 3/17/2020(UTC)
Posts: 9
United States
Location: PA

No, I never got this fixed. I've tried several different file formats with similar results. I re-flashed the Amanero with similar results.
Brian Donegan  
#14 Posted : Tuesday, October 20, 2020 3:26:33 PM(UTC)
Brian Donegan

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administration, Customer
Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC)
Posts: 2,821
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Thanks: 2 times
Was thanked: 131 time(s) in 126 post(s)
Sorry, lost track of this...

Setting the flags in the Amenero firmware is the Configuration Bits tab of the UI. You want to select "Slave Mode (MLCK Input)" and "Pin 11 Clock selector map" should be set to 24.576MHz selector"

This will set the Amenero to slave mode, where the MCK generated on the Cronus is master clock, and Pin 11 output will tell the Cronus which Rhea clock to use.
Brian Donegan  
#15 Posted : Tuesday, October 20, 2020 3:29:24 PM(UTC)
Brian Donegan

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administration, Customer
Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC)
Posts: 2,821
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Thanks: 2 times
Was thanked: 131 time(s) in 126 post(s)
If your new 9028 Pro and Legato are not working, try using them with an S/PDIF input to make sure the Legato is functioning (Buffalo is tested before shipping).

You can also try tapping headphones in to the Buffalo output directly, but use some cheap headphones as there is significant DC-offset due to the virtual ground.

Also, check the normal things, like the volume header (either jumpered or pot installed).

Rss Feed  Atom Feed
Users browsing this topic
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.