Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post Go to first unread
bill  
#1 Posted : Sunday, March 24, 2019 3:02:22 AM(UTC)
bill

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 9/15/2011(UTC)
Posts: 25
Location: NZ

Thanks: 1 times
I changed my active crossover and the new one needs more current than I get from a TP Placid HD bipolar. I think I need +/-15vdc and at least 1A. I have 2 Placid bipolar psus sitting idle and wonder if it's possible to wire them in parallel to double the current.

Any advice/comments are appreciated.
Jordo  
#2 Posted : Monday, March 25, 2019 11:22:43 PM(UTC)
Jordo

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 12/7/2011(UTC)
Posts: 433
Location: Amsterdam

Thanks: 27 times
Was thanked: 4 time(s) in 3 post(s)
Hi Bill,

I had to power a WaveIO with a Placid HD. This requires 0,750- 0,800 A and it could be done with the Placid.
This is naar the ultimate load of the placid of what I understand. If you attach your heat sinks to the housing it will dissipate more heat.
That was the advise I got from TPA at the time.
So 1,5A seems to be out of the question with one single PSU.

Parallel could work in my opinion. You could experiment with that I guess. But please take a second opinion from one of the experts here.
The Centaur must be up for the job tough or do you really a need bipolar PSU?

Grt,

Jordo
bill  
#3 Posted : Tuesday, April 2, 2019 8:12:11 PM(UTC)
bill

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 9/15/2011(UTC)
Posts: 25
Location: NZ

Thanks: 1 times
Thanks Jordo.
I'm not sure about the Amps but 0.5A per side was not enough to power the crossover. For best sound I want plenty of headroom. I do need bipolar to power the balanced input boards.

I worry that joining the psus in parallel might be unstable, joining the 3 outputs together (plus, gnd, neg). Can anyone advise on this?

Cheers, Bill

Brian Donegan  
#4 Posted : Tuesday, April 2, 2019 8:22:36 PM(UTC)
Brian Donegan

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administration, Customer
Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC)
Posts: 2,777
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Thanks: 2 times
Was thanked: 126 time(s) in 121 post(s)
Don't run Placids in parallel.

You could just use a LCBPS. You can get up to 1.5A out of each side.
bill  
#5 Posted : Friday, April 5, 2019 10:53:28 PM(UTC)
bill

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 9/15/2011(UTC)
Posts: 25
Location: NZ

Thanks: 1 times
But then the common (ground) would not be common, right?
Brian Donegan  
#6 Posted : Friday, April 5, 2019 11:00:25 PM(UTC)
Brian Donegan

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administration, Customer
Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC)
Posts: 2,777
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Thanks: 2 times
Was thanked: 126 time(s) in 121 post(s)
I'm not sure you mean. It's a bipolar supply, so GND is GND.
bill  
#7 Posted : Thursday, April 11, 2019 11:27:53 PM(UTC)
bill

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 9/15/2011(UTC)
Posts: 25
Location: NZ

Thanks: 1 times
Sorry, I forgot it's a biploar supply.

What transformer do you recommend?
I thought the rule of thumb is to get something bigger than the desired output (30v x 1.5A = 45VA), so I need at least 50VA.
Do you have anything?
Brian Donegan  
#8 Posted : Friday, April 12, 2019 2:52:08 PM(UTC)
Brian Donegan

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administration, Customer
Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC)
Posts: 2,777
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Thanks: 2 times
Was thanked: 126 time(s) in 121 post(s)
Our 15V transformer is 50VA.

http://www.twistedpearau.../power/transformers.aspx

Edited by user Friday, April 12, 2019 2:52:55 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Rss Feed  Atom Feed
Users browsing this topic
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.