Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Login

Options
View
Go to last post Go to first unread
kdb650  
#1 Posted : Wednesday, August 3, 2016 11:17:15 PM(UTC)
kdb650

Groups: Member

Hi All,

I've been enjoying my buffalo dac for many years now but recently had a problem come up. One channel has a high pitched whining noise coming from it. The sound is really obvious without music playing and gets drowned out at higher listening volumes.

A bit of background about my setup:

• dual mono configuration that I've been using and generally kept on for around 4 years straight. Everything has been fine up until now when this randomly started occurring, without moving the DAC or changing anything in my system.
  • the system consists of, two placid HDs, one placid HD BP, two buffalo 3 8 channel DACs with tridents, one legato
  • source is the SPDIF transceiver connected to my macbook pro

Details & troubleshooting:

• High pitched noise (ear piercing) is present in the right channel on all outputs - XLR, RCA, and headphone
  • Left channel is completely fine
  • Right channel signal seems fine, there's just an added high pitch noise on top of it
  • Swapped the left and right speakers and left and right channels on the amplifier to confirm that neither of those are the problem and the sound is in fact coming from the DAC system
  • all 3 power supplies are outputting the correct voltage
  • all board LEDs on the buffalos are lit as should be
  • Checked for loose wires and even re-soldered some joints for the hell of it, nothing seemed wrong before and nothing changed afterwards
  • Tried switching the placid HDs to the opposite buffalo boards and the noise remains on the right channel
  • Swapped buffalo outputs to the legato and confirmed the problem wasn't coming from there
  • From the tests I've tried so far I believe the problem lies on the right channel buffalo board