Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Login


Options
View
Go to last post Go to first unread
colscot  
#1 Posted : Tuesday, September 30, 2008 10:34:37 PM(UTC)
colscot

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 8/4/2008(UTC)
Posts: 17
Location: Maryland

I bought two transformers, one for Buffalo PS and one for Ivy PS. I was looking for a wiring diagram but the link on the website takes me to a pic of the power supply module and not a wiring diagram.

I assume they are wired in series but not sure if it is primaries in series and secondaries independent ? Sorry for the newbie question.


Colin
steinholien  
#2 Posted : Saturday, October 4, 2008 2:36:40 PM(UTC)
steinholien

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 6/12/2008(UTC)
Posts: 79
Location: Norway

Assuming you have bought the Avel Lindberg 15VA trafo: If you have 230VAC where you live, you have to wire the primarys in serie. If you have 115VAC you connect them in parallell. You can keep the secondarys independent. Each transformer gives 15 + 15VAC.
There are diagrams for wireing here: http://www.avellindberg.com/pdf/avel_y23_range.pdf

Stein
colscot  
#3 Posted : Saturday, October 4, 2008 5:08:21 PM(UTC)
colscot

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 8/4/2008(UTC)
Posts: 17
Location: Maryland

Yes, that is what I needed to confirm. It is primaries in series and secondaries independent.

Thanks
Colin
biellis  
#4 Posted : Monday, November 24, 2008 9:12:18 PM(UTC)
biellis

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 2/8/2007(UTC)
Posts: 21
Location: Bakersfield Ca

if you are wiring them in parallel you will probably want to keep them in phase. Usually if you look at a drawing they will put a dot next two of the four wires in the primaries. You will want to tie them together.

Bill
colscot  
#5 Posted : Tuesday, February 8, 2011 8:15:26 PM(UTC)
colscot

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 8/4/2008(UTC)
Posts: 17
Location: Maryland

Going back to this old topic, I just put together a B II, IVY III and Placid/Placid BP using the Avel Lindberg transformers. Power is 115v (US). Does the Placid only need one secondary ie the black and red wires? I have the red and yellow wires taped off and out of the way.
dsolodov  
#6 Posted : Tuesday, February 8, 2011 10:13:43 PM(UTC)
dsolodov

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 8/22/2010(UTC)
Posts: 38
United States

Thanks: 14 times
I connected my dual secondaries in parallel to the single Placid.
colscot  
#7 Posted : Wednesday, February 9, 2011 2:25:36 PM(UTC)
colscot

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 8/4/2008(UTC)
Posts: 17
Location: Maryland

What difference does that make, if any?
steinholien  
#8 Posted : Thursday, February 10, 2011 5:39:48 AM(UTC)
steinholien

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 6/12/2008(UTC)
Posts: 79
Location: Norway

Connecting both secondaries in parallel makes it possible to get the full VA rating out of the transformer. If you only use one secondary you only get half of the current.

Stein

Edited by user Thursday, February 10, 2011 5:41:04 AM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Rss Feed  Atom Feed
Users browsing this topic
Similar Topics
Alternate source for the power transformers? (Buffalo DAC)
by thomaspf 12/24/2008 12:20:11 PM(UTC)
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.