Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Login


5 Pages<12345>
Options
View
Go to last post Go to first unread
Russ White  
#41 Posted : Sunday, March 6, 2011 5:35:32 PM(UTC)
Russ White

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administration, Customer
Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC)
Posts: 3,979
Location: Nashville, TN

Thanks: 25 times
Was thanked: 89 time(s) in 83 post(s)
Yes, actually you may be onto something. Those resistors should be lower. Even down to 1K would be just fine. If you have a couple 1K resistors you could put them in there.

:edit: 10K *may* work ok but the rise time could also be too slow. I indicate 2.21K in the schematic which is a good value as it should work well for both 3.3V and 5V applications.
It is a fairly easy thing to change, so at least worth a go.
:/edit:

Edited by user Sunday, March 6, 2011 5:50:18 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

panord  
#42 Posted : Sunday, March 6, 2011 7:03:19 PM(UTC)
panord

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 3/16/2009(UTC)
Posts: 43
Location: Defiance, MO

I swapped out the resistors for 2.2k. No luck. Still no control from the volumite.
glt  
#43 Posted : Sunday, March 6, 2011 10:04:10 PM(UTC)
glt

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 11/9/2007(UTC)
Posts: 453
Location: usa

panord wrote:
Thanks. I've been looking for something like. Yes, I am getting stereo playback


If the volumite is for dual mono shouldn't using one OPUS (programmed for mono left or mono right) hooked up for stereo give you two left channel or two right channel? (See p48 of data sheet)

If it is playing Stereo, it could mean that the uP is not doing anything and the registers are coming up in default mode.
glt  
#44 Posted : Sunday, March 6, 2011 10:07:08 PM(UTC)
glt

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 11/9/2007(UTC)
Posts: 453
Location: usa

panord wrote:
I swapped out the resistors for 2.2k. No luck. Still no control from the volumite.


I2C seems pretty bullet proof :-)
panord  
#45 Posted : Monday, March 7, 2011 6:20:16 AM(UTC)
panord

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 3/16/2009(UTC)
Posts: 43
Location: Defiance, MO

Hmm... I guess what I really need is a magic bullet, then ;-)

Is it worth replacing the controller?
Russ White  
#46 Posted : Monday, March 7, 2011 6:32:05 AM(UTC)
Russ White

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administration, Customer
Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC)
Posts: 3,979
Location: Nashville, TN

Thanks: 25 times
Was thanked: 89 time(s) in 83 post(s)
I think that most likely the micro-controller is either dead, or needs to be re-programmed.
panord  
#47 Posted : Monday, March 7, 2011 7:47:18 AM(UTC)
panord

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 3/16/2009(UTC)
Posts: 43
Location: Defiance, MO

OK. I don't have the ability to try and reprogram it, so I'll order a new one.
Brian Donegan  
#48 Posted : Monday, March 7, 2011 8:23:30 AM(UTC)
Brian Donegan

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administration, Customer
Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC)
Posts: 2,865
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Thanks: 2 times
Was thanked: 138 time(s) in 133 post(s)
Replacement is already on it's way...
panord  
#49 Posted : Thursday, March 10, 2011 8:42:30 PM(UTC)
panord

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 3/16/2009(UTC)
Posts: 43
Location: Defiance, MO

Brian,

Thanks for the quick shipment. I received the new controller today and installed it. I hate to report that I still have the same issue. Sound coming out, but no control over the volume.

I have double checked the jumpers on Opus - all open except for I2S which are set at 1 on the right dac and 0 on the left.

I confirmed that the pot on Volumite is functioning correctly. I am getting varying voltages delivered to pin 3 (PB4) on the controller.

Confirmed the connections of SDA>SDIN on both dacs and SCL>SCK on both dacs. I have not connected PB1 or PB3.


I'm stumped.
Russ White  
#50 Posted : Thursday, March 10, 2011 8:56:04 PM(UTC)
Russ White

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administration, Customer
Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC)
Posts: 3,979
Location: Nashville, TN

Thanks: 25 times
Was thanked: 89 time(s) in 83 post(s)
Here is an easy way to verify if the controller is working,
Rig a LED (red green whatever you have) in series with about 221-390R resistor.
Connect the anode end of the two to the volumite's regulated 3.3V and the cathode end to either SDA or SCL.

It should blink when you turn the pot.

Edited by user Thursday, March 10, 2011 8:58:55 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

panord  
#51 Posted : Friday, March 11, 2011 6:10:35 AM(UTC)
panord

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 3/16/2009(UTC)
Posts: 43
Location: Defiance, MO

OK. Hooked up a 220 resistor and a red led to Vout of the regulator. Connected it to SCL and the light stays on steadily, even when I move the pot. I hooked it to SCA and the led blinks steadily, no change when I move the pot
Russ White  
#52 Posted : Friday, March 11, 2011 6:35:03 AM(UTC)
Russ White

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administration, Customer
Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC)
Posts: 3,979
Location: Nashville, TN

Thanks: 25 times
Was thanked: 89 time(s) in 83 post(s)
IS SCL shorted to GND?
Brian Donegan  
#53 Posted : Friday, March 11, 2011 7:11:28 AM(UTC)
Brian Donegan

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administration, Customer
Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC)
Posts: 2,865
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Thanks: 2 times
Was thanked: 138 time(s) in 133 post(s)
Can we get a picture of the bottom of your Volumite?
panord  
#54 Posted : Friday, March 11, 2011 8:29:11 AM(UTC)
panord

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 3/16/2009(UTC)
Posts: 43
Location: Defiance, MO

I'll take a picture when I get home later. I spent some time looking for solder traces and cold joints and couldn't see any - I'll look again and see if anything needs to be cleaed up. I'll double check the Opus boards, too since I guess it is possible that I have a short at SCK.

I did take measurements at SDA and SCL. SCL is showing a steady 1.6V. SDA shows fluctuating voltage 0 to a couple hundred mV. I previously took the same measurments on the Opus board and got the same results at SDIN and SCK. I'll check that again.

I just want to add that I appreciate your time and patience on this. Obviously if the issue turns out to be my soldering or wiring skills (or lack of), I'll pay up for the 2nd controller you sent.
panord  
#55 Posted : Friday, March 11, 2011 11:50:18 AM(UTC)
panord

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 3/16/2009(UTC)
Posts: 43
Location: Defiance, MO

Here's a picture of the back

panord attached the following image(s):
P3110192 (640x427).jpg (136kb) downloaded 185 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
panord  
#56 Posted : Saturday, March 12, 2011 6:39:52 AM(UTC)
panord

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 3/16/2009(UTC)
Posts: 43
Location: Defiance, MO

Alright. I can see that I pulled off the solder pad on the left resistor (looking from the bottom) when I swapped out the 10k resistors for the 2.2k resistors. I'm not sure which pin this is pulling up, though.

Taking the controller out, I measured from PB0 (pin 5) to Vcc on the dip and am getting 2.26k ohm. When I measure PB2 (pin 7) to Vcc, I am getting 1.5k. Again, I can't tell from the board layout which resistor is pulling up which pin, so I can't tell if the missing solder pad is a problem. Looking from the top of the board, I can see there is plenty of solder making a connection.
panord  
#57 Posted : Sunday, September 25, 2011 9:08:46 AM(UTC)
panord

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 3/16/2009(UTC)
Posts: 43
Location: Defiance, MO

So, I got pretty frustrated and gave up on this last spring and set it aside. Recently, I decided to have another go at it since I really like the idea of managing volume within the dac and removing my passive volume control from the system. I went ahead and ordered a completely new volumite since I had kind of trashed the previous one soldering and de-soldering resistors. Assembled it, hooked it up and... same issue. The volumite is not controlling the volume. Sound is coming from the dac, but no control. I disassembled the dac completely and hooked only the left mono channel and the volumite did work. Then I added the right channel board and the volumite no longer worked. Now I can't recreate my success with the single mono board anymore either. Brick wall

Anyway, to recap my setup:

I'm using a dual mono opus fed from a usb module. The opus boards are powered by a LCDPS. Output is through an IVY powered by a Placid BP. My switches are set:
I2S = 0-left, 1 right
DIFFHW = 0 (I've also tried Z)
All other switches = Z

For the volumite, I've wired
VCC > VD on one opus board
G > G on one opus board
SCA > SCL paralleled to both opus boards
SDA > SDIN paralleled to both opus boards

I've left PB1 and PB3 open since I'm feeding from the usb module which is only 16/48 (most of my music is ripped cd's, anyway)

The dac works great in hardware mode (though I am getting a background hiss when OSR is set to low - 0, but that is for a seperate thread).

So, I am looking for any other suggestions to try and get this to work.
Russ White  
#58 Posted : Monday, September 26, 2011 8:12:41 AM(UTC)
Russ White

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administration, Customer
Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC)
Posts: 3,979
Location: Nashville, TN

Thanks: 25 times
Was thanked: 89 time(s) in 83 post(s)
Panord, it's sounding like perhaps there is a short on one of your opus boards that is pulling SDA or SCL high or low.
panord  
#59 Posted : Monday, September 26, 2011 3:28:40 PM(UTC)
panord

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 3/16/2009(UTC)
Posts: 43
Location: Defiance, MO

Thanks Russ. I'm a little stumped, then. With the volumite disconnected I am getting a reading of 10M ohm across the DSD/SCL switch to both DVDD and G on both boards. I interpreted this as being open. With the volumite connected, I am getting a short to DVDD across the DSD switch (only one board connected at the moment). I'm not seeing anything on any of the boards that looks like a short or solder tracks, so I'm not sure where else to look.

Peter
Russ White  
#60 Posted : Tuesday, September 27, 2011 11:43:09 AM(UTC)
Russ White

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administration, Customer
Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC)
Posts: 3,979
Location: Nashville, TN

Thanks: 25 times
Was thanked: 89 time(s) in 83 post(s)
Hmm that is very strange. So when the volumite is connected but not powered you have 0 ohms resistance from VDD to SCL?
Rss Feed  Atom Feed
Users browsing this topic
5 Pages<12345>
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.