Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Login

Options
View
Go to last post Go to first unread
audioslave  
#1 Posted : Wednesday, February 9, 2011 7:28:45 PM(UTC)
audioslave

Groups: Member

I have an IVY III and Buf II with a single Placid and Placid BP. I have been using the Buf in SE fashion for a few months. I wanted to try the Buf via the BAL out to an Anthem MCA amp direct using the volume control on my Squeezbox.

I noticed that the BAL out on the left channel was much lower in level. I checked the SE and they sounded OK

I put the scope on the right an ran a 1khz tone into the DAC via the SPDIF and got this on the scope:

UserPostedImage

Same setup on the scope and on the left channel I have:

UserPostedImage

The neg leg of the left signal is much lower in level and they both have some high frequency noise on them. Wierdly the SE on the left channel looks fine. Here is the neg leg of the BAL out by itself:

UserPostedImage

Obviously I need to take things back apart. I looked close at the components and the solder joints and didn't see anything that stood out. Any thoughts as to where I should start? Does this look like something in the IVY or in Buf II?

I'm a mechanical engineer working as an process automation/IT guy....so this electronics testing stuff is a bit new to me. Any other points where I should test the IVY to see what is going on?
Russ White  
#2 Posted : Thursday, February 10, 2011 9:30:23 AM(UTC)
Russ White

Groups: Administration, Customer

Was thanked: 89 time(s) in 83 post(s)
Yeah something is definitely borked. I would need to see pics of the IVY-III to even begin to help.

I would start be checking the OPA1632s on the left side, also double check that all of the solder joints are good and no shorts.
Russ White  
#3 Posted : Thursday, February 10, 2011 9:34:09 AM(UTC)
Russ White

Groups: Administration, Customer

Was thanked: 89 time(s) in 83 post(s)