Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Login


Options
View
Go to last post Go to first unread
Loboone  
#1 Posted : Tuesday, May 8, 2007 4:38:47 PM(UTC)
Loboone

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 5/8/2007(UTC)
Posts: 4
Location: New Zealand

Hi guys.

Forgive me for being a little confussed. (Dumb) In the part listing for the preamp it specifies 12v + 12v output transformer but in the purchase page the transformer is specufied as 15v + 15v output.

Which one is it or doesn't it matter and either will do the job?

Cheers
Ian
Brian Donegan  
#2 Posted : Tuesday, May 8, 2007 5:36:48 PM(UTC)
Brian Donegan

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administration, Customer
Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC)
Posts: 2,865
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Thanks: 2 times
Was thanked: 138 time(s) in 133 post(s)
The Kookaburra has onboard voltage regulators, so either will work. We picked the 15V+15V to stock as it will fit the bill for the most applications.
Loboone  
#3 Posted : Tuesday, May 8, 2007 6:00:09 PM(UTC)
Loboone

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 5/8/2007(UTC)
Posts: 4
Location: New Zealand

Thanks for that Brian. I thought that might be the case with the regulators etc but thought it would be better to regulate down than have to pull up the voltage so I'll look for a 15volt xformer.

Now I just need to figure out the loop on the Darwin selector and I will be right.

Quote: signal->darwin inputs 1, 2 ,3...->darwin's loop output->kookaburra input-->kook output->Darwin's loop input-> darwin outs: 1 for crossover's signal input and 2 for direct preamp out, choosing with darwin's own output selector.

Doe's this sound right?

Regards Ian.
Russ White  
#4 Posted : Tuesday, May 8, 2007 6:06:17 PM(UTC)
Russ White

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administration, Customer
Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC)
Posts: 3,979
Location: Nashville, TN

Thanks: 25 times
Was thanked: 89 time(s) in 83 post(s)
Hi Ian a, 12VAC trafo when rectified will get you something like 16-17VDC which will regulate down to 12V just fine. :) So 12V or 15V is just fine. :)
Brian Donegan  
#5 Posted : Tuesday, May 8, 2007 6:26:24 PM(UTC)
Brian Donegan

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administration, Customer
Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC)
Posts: 2,865
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Thanks: 2 times
Was thanked: 138 time(s) in 133 post(s)
Quote:
Quote: signal->darwin inputs 1, 2 ,3...->darwin's loop output->kookaburra input-->kook output->Darwin's loop input-> darwin outs: 1 for crossover's signal input and 2 for direct preamp out, choosing with darwin's own output selector.


That looks right.
Rss Feed  Atom Feed
Users browsing this topic
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.