Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Login

Options
View
Go to last post Go to first unread
frozen wing  
#1 Posted : Sunday, February 15, 2009 3:11:53 PM(UTC)
frozen wing

Groups: Member

I have dac + mux + ivy

i just finished the build and the sound is very detailed but too bright, the low end is kind of missing.
I used the new settings c1-4 10nf, r17-20 jumpers, r5-8 jumpers and c13-16 10nf.I noticed in every pictures i saw here and on diyaudio
that c13-16 are omitted! could that be the difference? about the dip switch setting the more i read the more i'm confused. Mux dip 1 low the rest high. Buffalo dip 1 low the rest middle.
frozen wing attached the following image(s):
IMG_2826 copy.jpg (121kb) downloaded 443 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
frozen wing  
#2 Posted : Wednesday, February 18, 2009 12:05:08 PM(UTC)
frozen wing

i'm a total beginner in this! I have changed the source and now the sound is much better. I did not now that the source could make a big differece. Still a bit bright for my taste when i play rock music. jazz is incredible i hear things i've never heard before.
Now would the vref mod change things enough that it would be worth doing it?
pelliott123  
#3 Posted : Thursday, February 19, 2009 8:23:12 AM(UTC)
pelliott123

Dip switch 2,3,4 on the Buffalo can change the way it sounds. You have to re-boot the buffalo for change to take place. Do one at a time and see if that helps. I found that it took a while for the caps to settle in, be patient about 100 hours or so. Do forget you are hearing much more detail than whatever you were using before. I used to keep my tweeter level on my speakers full before and now they are flat.
Brian Donegan  
#4 Posted : Thursday, February 19, 2009 8:32:04 AM(UTC)
Brian Donegan

Groups: Administration, Customer

Was thanked: 141 time(s) in 134 post(s)