Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Login


Options
View
Go to last post Go to first unread
Jordo  
#1 Posted : Friday, October 15, 2021 7:27:54 PM(UTC)
Jordo

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 12/7/2011(UTC)
Posts: 465
Location: Amsterdam

Thanks: 31 times
Was thanked: 4 time(s) in 3 post(s)
There seems to be something strange with the music reproduction of my BIII PRO. Let's see if you can catch this.

Since I installed the upgrade from the BIII to the BIII SE PRO I found some real improvements to the overall music reproduction but I had some doubts.

Loose Yourself to Dance of Daft Punk got some strange volume layers during the 'Common' tekst part.
But than I was listening to Herbie Hancock’s Watermelon man (my father played that song since I was born) and my suspicion became true; there are actually tones (data) missing in the music.
At 0:20 in the song a higher flute tone starts but you can only hear the echo of it somewhere in the back. At 1:16 a tockle starts of which again you can hear some in the background only but it should be expressively up in front.
So strange.

What did I do to isolate this strange behaviour?

Normal setup: Qobuz (Source) --> Volumio (UPNP\DLNA) --> Allo Rpi USBridge (USB out) --> WaveIO (I2s out) --> DAC BIII SE PRO

Alternative 1: Qobuz (Source) --> Volumio (Airplay) --> Allo Rpi USBridge (USB out) --> WaveIO (I2s out) --> DAC BIII SE PRO

Alternative 2: Qobuz (Source) --> Apple TV (Airplay) --> Chinese Toslink to I2S --> DAC BIII SE PRO

All the same results.
When playing the song via the Qobuz App on the phone the instruments are clearly te hear.
I do have quite large U.fl cables installed in the test setup but the music reproduces without a glitch.
I have changed the 3 I2s cables to rule them out.

This leaves only two options

1: The DAC if faulty
2: The Mercury Pre Amp is faulty

You would not think an analogue (pre-amp) stage does skip information. That would be 'possibly' something for a DAC to do if at all...

Russ, Brian, any clou at all?...


Edit:
The flute and toggle are on the RH channel

Edited by user Monday, October 18, 2021 5:46:34 AM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Jordo  
#2 Posted : Saturday, October 16, 2021 7:17:40 AM(UTC)
Jordo

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 12/7/2011(UTC)
Posts: 465
Location: Amsterdam

Thanks: 31 times
Was thanked: 4 time(s) in 3 post(s)
Ok I did som further research with the left and right channel check.

It seems that the left signal plays trough both speakers and the right signal doesn't work at all!!

So the Mercury works. Somehow the left signal plays trough both channels and right does not work..

(I have tried this again with the different sources).

For what its worth, L5 is shorted and R7 is open (as delivered).
I assured the L5 connection by resoldering. R7 = approx 2.5 KOhm.

I think the DAC is configured in mono mode. How to get it in stereo?

Edited by user Sunday, October 17, 2021 7:43:17 AM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Brian Donegan  
#3 Posted : Sunday, October 17, 2021 9:16:09 PM(UTC)
Brian Donegan

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administration, Customer
Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC)
Posts: 2,865
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Thanks: 2 times
Was thanked: 138 time(s) in 133 post(s)
Hi

I shipped a few DACs with the wrong firmware. I thought I had backtracked too all the affected orders, but seen to have missed yours. I'll send you the correct firmware tomorrow morning. Sorry for the mix-up.
Jordo  
#4 Posted : Monday, October 18, 2021 5:46:14 AM(UTC)
Jordo

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 12/7/2011(UTC)
Posts: 465
Location: Amsterdam

Thanks: 31 times
Was thanked: 4 time(s) in 3 post(s)
Hm yes that had to be the only solution. I'm glad it's that simple.

Thx.
Jordo  
#5 Posted : Friday, October 29, 2021 9:30:14 AM(UTC)
Jordo

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 12/7/2011(UTC)
Posts: 465
Location: Amsterdam

Thanks: 31 times
Was thanked: 4 time(s) in 3 post(s)
New Firmware Chip received.
That's much better Boo hoo!

Thx!

Rss Feed  Atom Feed
Users browsing this topic
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.