Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Login


Options
View
Go to last post Go to first unread
sarmentor  
#1 Posted : Friday, October 9, 2015 9:35:27 PM(UTC)
sarmentor

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 8/8/2015(UTC)
Posts: 12

Thanks: 1 times
Hi All,

Just wanted to confirm that my setup isn't going to burn ;-)

I have a LCDPS to supply both Dual-Mono Opus DAC converters boards...and the Metronome and OTTO-II switch.
Can someone tell me if this is going to be feasible or will I have trouble with the voltages supply. The Metronome, the DACS and the OTTO-II chips have different VDDs. Will I have to adjust the LCDPS output voltages?

Many thanks for your support.

Brian Donegan  
#2 Posted : Friday, October 9, 2015 10:02:52 PM(UTC)
Brian Donegan

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administration, Customer
Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC)
Posts: 2,865
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Thanks: 2 times
Was thanked: 138 time(s) in 133 post(s)
I would set both sides to 5.5V and put the Metronome and one Buffalo on one side, the OTTO and the other Buffalo on the other.

The 7.5V recommendation for the Metronome is based on Opus DAC implementations where the 5V LDO on the Opus is more comfortable with a slightly higher Vin. The Metronome local regulator is 3.3V and will do fine with 5.5V input.

This will give you plenty of headroom in both rails. For full benefit of the dual-mono configuration, you want separate supplies as well, so, double benefit.

sarmentor  
#3 Posted : Friday, October 9, 2015 11:10:51 PM(UTC)
sarmentor

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 8/8/2015(UTC)
Posts: 12

Thanks: 1 times
I have the Opus DACs, not the Buffalo, will the 5.5V regulation be sufficient knowing the needed higher voltage by the Opus DAC? Please confirm.
Brian Donegan  
#4 Posted : Saturday, October 10, 2015 2:00:47 AM(UTC)
Brian Donegan

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administration, Customer
Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC)
Posts: 2,865
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Thanks: 2 times
Was thanked: 138 time(s) in 133 post(s)
Oh, sorry.

You can turn both sides up to 7.5VDC then. No problems. You also won't come close to hitting the max current of the LCDPS either.


sarmentor  
#5 Posted : Saturday, October 10, 2015 6:17:21 PM(UTC)
sarmentor

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 8/8/2015(UTC)
Posts: 12

Thanks: 1 times
No problem Brian. Thank you. I'll set it to 7.5V on both sides. One for the Opus DAC and the Metronome, the other for the OTTO-II and the other Opus DAC. The OTTO-II page says "DC power for the module can be anything from 4 to 5.5V", do you confirm the OTTO-II will not suffer from 7.5V supply?

Thanks again.
Russ White  
#6 Posted : Monday, October 12, 2015 9:32:55 PM(UTC)
Russ White

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administration, Customer
Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC)
Posts: 3,979
Location: Nashville, TN

Thanks: 25 times
Was thanked: 89 time(s) in 83 post(s)
up to 7V should be ok - I would not do 7.5V

Cheers!
Russ
sarmentor  
#7 Posted : Monday, October 12, 2015 9:56:18 PM(UTC)
sarmentor

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 8/8/2015(UTC)
Posts: 12

Thanks: 1 times
thanks Russ!

Cheers
miklau  
#8 Posted : Wednesday, January 2, 2019 4:31:08 PM(UTC)
miklau

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 3/14/2018(UTC)
Posts: 26
Denmark

Thanks: 5 times
Originally Posted by: Brian Donegan Go to Quoted Post
I would set both sides to 5.5V and put the Metronome and one Buffalo on one side, the OTTO and the other Buffalo on the other.

The 7.5V recommendation for the Metronome is based on Opus DAC implementations where the 5V LDO on the Opus is more comfortable with a slightly higher Vin. The Metronome local regulator is 3.3V and will do fine with 5.5V input.

This will give you plenty of headroom in both rails. For full benefit of the dual-mono configuration, you want separate supplies as well, so, double benefit.



Hi Brian

Would there be any issues in powering the metronome with a 5V PSU (instead of the 5.5V written earlier)? I am to power the metronome with a isolator that receives 5v DC...

Would the metronome benefit from a more quiet shunt PS, like your Placid HD, instead of the LCDPS?

Thanks in advance :-)
Brian Donegan  
#9 Posted : Wednesday, January 2, 2019 5:03:29 PM(UTC)
Brian Donegan

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administration, Customer
Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC)
Posts: 2,865
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Thanks: 2 times
Was thanked: 138 time(s) in 133 post(s)
The local LDO on the Metronome is providing 3.3V, so 5V input voltage is fine.

I don't think there would be any benefit to using a shunt supply in this situation.
thanks 1 user thanked Brian Donegan for this useful post.
miklau on 1/2/2019(UTC)
Rss Feed  Atom Feed
Users browsing this topic
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.