Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

2 Pages<12
Options
View
Go to last post Go to first unread
gwikse  
#21 Posted : Monday, November 19, 2012 11:26:42 AM(UTC)
gwikse

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 1/19/2011(UTC)
Posts: 332
Location: Oslo, Norway

Thanks: 14 times
Was thanked: 17 time(s) in 17 post(s)
Nearing the end of my B3 (with TPA supplied parts) model.

Sidecar, Spdif input card and B3 with old AVCC and old Tridents.
I am not able to model other models unless I can get images and dimentions of the pcb`s to start from. I can not continue to spend this much time on creating models for the community when there is no response on attempts to get images, dimentions and part lists of PCB`s that would cut the model time to 1/10th of what it has been so far.

Edited by user Monday, November 19, 2012 11:30:43 AM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

gwikse attached the following image(s):
gwb3.jpg (116kb) downloaded 43 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
Russ White  
#22 Posted : Thursday, November 22, 2012 5:58:47 AM(UTC)
Russ White

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administration, Customer
Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC)
Posts: 3,979
Location: Nashville, TN

Thanks: 25 times
Was thanked: 89 time(s) in 83 post(s)
I will be happy to send images.:)

Does 300DPI JPEG suffice for your purposes?
gwikse  
#23 Posted : Thursday, November 22, 2012 8:01:51 AM(UTC)
gwikse

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 1/19/2011(UTC)
Posts: 332
Location: Oslo, Norway

Thanks: 14 times
Was thanked: 17 time(s) in 17 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Russ White Go to Quoted Post
I will be happy to send images.:)

Does 300DPI JPEG suffice for your purposes?


That would be great. :)

Edit: mail: my nick at gmail dot com

Edited by user Thursday, November 22, 2012 8:04:13 AM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

gwikse  
#24 Posted : Friday, November 23, 2012 11:07:08 AM(UTC)
gwikse

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 1/19/2011(UTC)
Posts: 332
Location: Oslo, Norway

Thanks: 14 times
Was thanked: 17 time(s) in 17 post(s)
Latest models (B3 + Sidecar and 4ch Sp-dif) uploaded for download. Tridents on the B3 board will be held off until (if) i get textures.

B3
http://sketchup.google.c...42b0b046fcff41bbcfa124c8

4ch Spdif input card (wima caps)
http://sketchup.google.c...41bbcfa124c8&ct=mdsa

Sidecar
http://sketchup.google.c...41bbcfa124c8&ct=mdsa

Edited by user Friday, November 23, 2012 11:09:25 AM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

gwikse  
#25 Posted : Tuesday, November 27, 2012 12:57:23 PM(UTC)
gwikse

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 1/19/2011(UTC)
Posts: 332
Location: Oslo, Norway

Thanks: 14 times
Was thanked: 17 time(s) in 17 post(s)
Any progress on the images Russ?
gwikse  
#26 Posted : Tuesday, November 27, 2012 8:58:46 PM(UTC)
gwikse

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 1/19/2011(UTC)
Posts: 332
Location: Oslo, Norway

Thanks: 14 times
Was thanked: 17 time(s) in 17 post(s)
If anyone has come across CAD (prefarrably step/stp) models of the nCore hypex amps, it would be greatly appreciated. I could then convert them to sketchup.
gwikse  
#27 Posted : Wednesday, December 5, 2012 11:14:49 PM(UTC)
gwikse

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 1/19/2011(UTC)
Posts: 332
Location: Oslo, Norway

Thanks: 14 times
Was thanked: 17 time(s) in 17 post(s)
Hello,
I got some images to work from now. Thanks Russ :)

Could someone verify these measurements for me? If they are off, the entire model will be as well.
Part numbers for the RJ45 port and the angled fasteners would be of great help to make this accurate and useful for the community. If anyone has those I would greatly appreciate it (I can then make the model and cutout template accurate).

Best
G

Edit: 1-406525-1 was staring me in the face I see. DOH! d'oh!

Edit: uploaded for others to check out and give feedback regarding accuracy. Please PM me if you find errors.
http://sketchup.google.c...8163a772fcff41bbcfa124c8

Edited by user Wednesday, December 5, 2012 11:38:38 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

gwikse attached the following image(s):
teleporter.jpg (199kb) downloaded 28 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
gwikse  
#28 Posted : Thursday, December 6, 2012 10:03:32 AM(UTC)
gwikse

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 1/19/2011(UTC)
Posts: 332
Location: Oslo, Norway

Thanks: 14 times
Was thanked: 17 time(s) in 17 post(s)
The sketchup model of the teleporter is done for now. If someone check the measurements and give me feedback regarding accuracy I will update it.

Next; Trident V3
gwikse attached the following image(s):
teleporter.jpg (54kb) downloaded 25 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
gwikse  
#29 Posted : Saturday, December 8, 2012 10:54:58 AM(UTC)
gwikse

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 1/19/2011(UTC)
Posts: 332
Location: Oslo, Norway

Thanks: 14 times
Was thanked: 17 time(s) in 17 post(s)
Trident V3.

http://sketchup.google.c...0e56bb24acff41bbcfa124c8

Edited by user Saturday, December 8, 2012 10:59:50 AM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

gwikse attached the following image(s):
Trident V3.jpg (80kb) downloaded 28 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
jf4828  
#30 Posted : Saturday, December 29, 2012 7:27:25 AM(UTC)
jf4828

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 12/4/2012(UTC)
Posts: 10
Location: Tampa, FL

Nice work on the SketchUp models! I'm not quite as ambitious but know it is much better to visualize the layout in CAD:)

I've attached my proposed layout. Before moving on, I'm curious if placements shown makes sense. I very quickly designed the boards in Solidworks just to get the dimensions. Here are the components involved:
1. BIII SE
2. IVY
3. Placid HD
4. Placid HD BP
5. SPDIF In
6. USB In (will mount USB/I2S when TPA releases)
7. Balanced and Unbalanced Out
8. 20x4 LCD
9. Arduino UNO
10. Remote Sensor
11. Rotary Encoder
12. Arduino PS (probably brick style)

BTW, I'm loving the way this thing sounds but I'm ready to get it in a chassis and into my main rig:)

jf4828 attached the following image(s):
Buffalo_Design.PNG (214kb) downloaded 57 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
Corpius  
#31 Posted : Saturday, December 29, 2012 10:15:31 AM(UTC)
Corpius

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 2/1/2012(UTC)
Posts: 332
Location: The Netherlands

Thanks: 4 times
Was thanked: 18 time(s) in 18 post(s)
I would attach the Arduino to the front plate, next to the LCD if that fits or else to the side panel next to the transformers. This frees up l a lot of space inside the chassis. By doing so you can move the power supplies, DAC boards and IV stage towards the front panel. Now you have some space at the back to mount the SPDIF board and USB receiver.

Are you going to use a PS(playstation) controller to control you DAC? Eh?
jf4828  
#32 Posted : Saturday, December 29, 2012 4:01:19 PM(UTC)
jf4828

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 12/4/2012(UTC)
Posts: 10
Location: Tampa, FL

Thanks for the suggestion, the arduino definitely makes more sense on the front panel!

I originally planned IR following your work. I'm starting to think about Arduino Ethernet (or maybe wifi, but I'm scared of noise) and using iPhone/Android to control. I've programmed an Arduino web server that controls via http get requests. I'm on the fence because the rest of my setup uses the antiquated IR technology and I like the convenience of a Harmony remote......

If anyone needs it, I'd consider spending the time to convert the sketchup models to solidworks. I did it last night for the Placid HD and it is pretty straight forward using on-hand conversion tools. I've attached a sample of what it looks like in SW. Note that the colors are how they came over converted; I'd have to rework to more realistic.
jf4828 attached the following image(s):
Placid.PNG (37kb) downloaded 17 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
Corpius  
#33 Posted : Saturday, December 29, 2012 4:23:35 PM(UTC)
Corpius

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 2/1/2012(UTC)
Posts: 332
Location: The Netherlands

Thanks: 4 times
Was thanked: 18 time(s) in 18 post(s)
Do you have some experience in programming android and Iphone apps?
jf4828  
#34 Posted : Saturday, December 29, 2012 4:33:41 PM(UTC)
jf4828

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 12/4/2012(UTC)
Posts: 10
Location: Tampa, FL

Originally Posted by: Corpius Go to Quoted Post
Do you have some experience in programming android and Iphone apps?


Very limited w/ iPhone only. I've done quite a bit of programming though and know it's pretty simple for both if we are just designing an interface and using http requrests to the Arduino.

I'm very very busy in the new year but could definitely get something rolling in time if the community is interested...
Corpius  
#35 Posted : Saturday, December 29, 2012 6:00:50 PM(UTC)
Corpius

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 2/1/2012(UTC)
Posts: 332
Location: The Netherlands

Thanks: 4 times
Was thanked: 18 time(s) in 18 post(s)
I have plans to include ethernet control myself, but I have never programmed an Android or iphone app. I have quite a lot of experience with C#, so making a windows form application should be no problem.
gwikse  
#36 Posted : Saturday, December 29, 2012 11:54:23 PM(UTC)
gwikse

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 1/19/2011(UTC)
Posts: 332
Location: Oslo, Norway

Thanks: 14 times
Was thanked: 17 time(s) in 17 post(s)
Originally Posted by: jf4828 Go to Quoted Post
Thanks for the suggestion, the arduino definitely makes more sense on the front panel!

I originally planned IR following your work. I'm starting to think about Arduino Ethernet (or maybe wifi, but I'm scared of noise) and using iPhone/Android to control. I've programmed an Arduino web server that controls via http get requests. I'm on the fence because the rest of my setup uses the antiquated IR technology and I like the convenience of a Harmony remote......

If anyone needs it, I'd consider spending the time to convert the sketchup models to solidworks. I did it last night for the Placid HD and it is pretty straight forward using on-hand conversion tools. I've attached a sample of what it looks like in SW. Note that the colors are how they came over converted; I'd have to rework to more realistic.



Great work. I just remembered that the Placid models have 2inch heatsinks and not the 1,5inch that follow the kits from TPA.

Too bad about colors. I have the same issue when importing from other formats.

I also agree with Corpius regarding the layout. One more thing I would suggest is to move the dac and IV board to the left so that the Placid HDBP power out is aligned with the right Ivy3 power in and the Placid HD power out will then be aligned with the B3.

Looking forward to seing the development on the controller front as well guys :)
gwikse  
#37 Posted : Friday, April 12, 2013 10:07:37 PM(UTC)
gwikse

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 1/19/2011(UTC)
Posts: 332
Location: Oslo, Norway

Thanks: 14 times
Was thanked: 17 time(s) in 17 post(s)
The Joshua Tree relay board.

http://sketchup.google.c...1ddff94abcff41bbcfa124c8

Edited by user Friday, April 12, 2013 10:11:14 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

gwikse attached the following image(s):
Joshua tree relay board.jpg (74kb) downloaded 20 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
Corpius  
#38 Posted : Sunday, April 14, 2013 8:54:07 AM(UTC)
Corpius

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 2/1/2012(UTC)
Posts: 332
Location: The Netherlands

Thanks: 4 times
Was thanked: 18 time(s) in 18 post(s)
Cool. The collection is almost complete, isn't it? The models are of great value for anyone that wants to start laying out the internal structure of the DAC , but does not have the modules yet.
gwikse  
#39 Posted : Sunday, April 14, 2013 1:54:30 PM(UTC)
gwikse

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 1/19/2011(UTC)
Posts: 332
Location: Oslo, Norway

Thanks: 14 times
Was thanked: 17 time(s) in 17 post(s)
Hopefully the models will come in handy for planning layouts.
Still a long way to go before all the TPA modules are awailable. But atm I think the most used are awailable. I still have some work to do with the Otto2 f.inst. But it will be uploaded as soon as it is done.

The Joshua tree relay driver board.

http://sketchup.google.c...41bbcfa124c8&ct=mdsa

gwikse attached the following image(s):
Joshua tree relay driver board.jpg (96kb) downloaded 16 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
Rss Feed  Atom Feed
Users browsing this topic
2 Pages<12
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.