Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Login


Options
View
Go to last post Go to first unread
matejS  
#1 Posted : Thursday, May 22, 2008 6:34:16 AM(UTC)
matejS

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 1/1/2008(UTC)
Posts: 6

Hi!

I've just received a packet with twisted things in it :)
Since I am very exited about it, I am going to build it ASAP... as perfectionist I have some comments/questions:
- Buffalo WWW page states: "The Buffalo module requires two supply voltages. VA should be run at 6.6VDC and VD should be run at 5VDC. We offer a combination of the Buffalo and our Low Current Dual Power Supply (LCDPS) below.", manual recommends 6.6VDC and 6V. I guess 6V is "more recommended" :)
- I look at the Buffalo board schematics and I cannot figure it out where VA goes, I guess to DAC (is there a DAC chip datasheet available?)... but in schematics it points to nowhere :S
- I've noticed there are 2 REGs on the board, 2 are used for digital, right? How good PSU has to be (I have LCDPS)?
- Should I try to make analog PS as quiet as possible; since VA is (?) routed directly to DAC chip?

Thanks,
Matej
matejS  
#2 Posted : Thursday, May 22, 2008 1:42:54 PM(UTC)
matejS

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 1/1/2008(UTC)
Posts: 6

... and what about using LT1086 instead of LM317T?

Matej
Russ White  
#3 Posted : Thursday, May 22, 2008 7:44:46 PM(UTC)
Russ White

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administration, Customer
Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC)
Posts: 3,979
Location: Nashville, TN

Thanks: 25 times
Was thanked: 89 time(s) in 83 post(s)
hello,

On the Buffalo there are four power supply terminal. VA, and GND, and VD and GND. I hope this answers your questions. :)

I would not change the VREGs unless you feel a special need. They work great,
matejS  
#4 Posted : Friday, May 23, 2008 2:09:54 AM(UTC)
matejS

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 1/1/2008(UTC)
Posts: 6

matejS wrote:
- Should I try to make analog PS as quiet as possible; since VA is (?) routed directly to DAC chip?


Got it! VA is buffered by IC3 :)

Matej
sopiblack  
#5 Posted : Wednesday, July 9, 2008 9:37:35 AM(UTC)
sopiblack

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 7/8/2008(UTC)
Posts: 3
Location: Denmark

matejS wrote:
... and what about using LT1086 instead of LM317T?
i vill use regulators from Dexa electronics.

Matej

Hi can someone tells me what masterclock, i can use when i read the datasheet, it tells me, if i use spdif input the clock must be 386x192= 74,112 mhz is this correct? d'oh!
Rss Feed  Atom Feed
Users browsing this topic
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.